From Chris Morgan’s time capsule we bring you two great SUBC crews of the past.
From the front page of Honi Soit in June 1948 the report of the 1948 crew’s win in Intervarsity in Perth. In those days Intervarsity was raced over 3 miles.

The 1948 squad were also New South Wales Men’s Eight Champions. The Intervarsity crew included such famous stalwarts as Eric (Doc) Longley – who went on to coach many great crews including the 1960-61-62 and 1983 winning Intervarsity Eights. Stroking this crew as EOG (Ted) Pain who went on to win bronze in the 1952 Olympics in Helsinki.


The 1964 crew shown here winning the Riverview Gold Cup from Mosman and Sydney. The article suggests that the win was an upset “University Shocks in Gold Cup” although the winning margin looks to be about a length.
This ‘shock “was replicated by the 1972 SUBC crew when they took on the Sydney crew that was mostly the Munich Olympic eight in preparation and took an early lead and held on to win by about half a canvas – talk about a shock ! That crew included future 76 Olympians Chris Shinners and Ian Luxford.
The 1976 crew repeated the 1964 result exactly with SUBC winning by 3 lengths from Mosman and Sydney. That crew was stroked by Chris Noel and included the future 1979 Australian pair champions of Tony Anisimoff and Phil Winkworth. That pair became part of a four that reprinted Australia in the World Championships in Bled 1979.