About the Club


Sydney University Boat Club is among the oldest sporting clubs in Australia, founded in 1860. Known throughout the world as The Home of Rowing, the club has produced great rowing careers at University, State, National and International level.
 At the 2008 Olympics six Sydney University rowers represented Australia - two in the men's eight, two in the women's eight and two in the men's four with Francis Hegerty and Matt Ryan winning silver medals in the M4-. Ten Sydney University rowers competed for Australia at the London Olympics.


Latest Galleries
  • Rundle strokes NSW Youth Eight to victory in the Interstate Regatta Penrith March 2013

    Winning Eights 2012- 2014 with Jon Rundle

              On the podium at Champions Lakes WA with the Noel Wilkinson Trophy. Syd Uni U23 celebrate as they win the U23 national title - Champion Lakes Perth March 2012              

  • SUBC christen a new rowing 8 boat the 'Beth Spence'.

    VC Christens New Eight – “Beth Spence”


    Riverview Gold Cup 2013

  • 64151_546034112119093_1373949224_n

    Gallagher Great Race

  • Right - Michale Poulter Melb Uni U23 Qiad 2013

    Australian Team Fundraiser

  • IMG_0721

    Australian Rowing Championships 2013

From The Blog

Jonny Rundle – 3 Strokes a National Champion

Jonny Rundle at Penrith March 2013 after winning his second U23 Eights Championship

Jonny Rundle created a unique record on 28th March this year when he stroked the Sydney Uni men’s U23 to their third consecutive victory in the U23 National Eight title. This event is the blue riband event for clubs in the U23 development category and SUBC has a proud record in this race. Jon’s unique record started in the heatwave of the 2012 Nationals in Perth. In the race for...

More →


Nick Purnell - SUBC Captain, after winning the 2014 Kings Cup

 14 Gold 9 Silver and 10 Bronze in Nationals, Interstate Regatta and World Cup       The Australian National Rowing Championships 23-28th March The Australian Schools Rowing Championships 27-30th March The Kings and Queens Cup Interstate Regatta  29th March The 2014 World Cup of Rowing 1    28-30th March "Outstanding Regatta for Kehoe and Belonogoff" Among many great performers for our  club were Sasha Belonogoff (with three golds, the National...

More →

Boat Club Foundation Speech – November 2013

In November 2013 Paul and Ros Espie hosted a cocktail party for the Rowing Foundation at their home at Darling Point. This night provided a substantial boost in committed pledges and donations to our Foundation. Our thanks to Paul and Ros for hosting us and giving the Boat Club the opportunity to be re-committed to growing our Foundation capital. On the evening our Deputy President, Chris Noel  gave the following...

More →

Scullers Shine at 2014 Sydney International Regatta

Sally Kehoe at 2014 Sydney International Regatta

Sydney University scullers shone strongly at the just concluded Sydney International 2014 Regatta with gold, s silver and bronze medals in the 2014 Nationals, the 2014 Interstate Regatta and World Cup 1 of 2014. Sasha Belonogoff showed his class winning the men’s single scull national title with silver medal to Nick Purnell (also of SUBC). Nick Hudson was 5th; Cam Girdlestone was 7th with Hamish Playfair and Matt Ryan finishing...

More →